Here is the revised list of fixtures of the 2019 edition of the Calcutta Football League (CFL). The tournament will feature the likes of Kolkata giants East Bengal, Mohun Bagan and Mohammedan Sporting.
The Mariners were slated to kick off the top tier local league on Friday but their ground’s renovation work failed to meet the deadline and the Public Works Department did not give the requisite fit certificate.
The 2019 edition of the Calcutta Football League (CFL), also known as the Calcutta Premier Division Group A, began on July 27 when BSS Sporting Club held Southern Samity to a 1-1 draw at the Barasat Stadium.
Kolkata giant Mohun Bagan was scheduled to face last season’s runner-up Peerless FC in the tournament opener on July 26, but the tie was rescheduled and will now be played on August 5.
According to the updated schedules published by the Indian Football Association, Southern Samity, Bhowanipore Club and Calcutta Customs Club will be in practice against BSS Sporting Club, while the match of Mohammedan Sporting against Aryan Club has also been delayed to August 7.
Bagan’s second game will see it take on Calcutta Customs Club on August 14, while Quess East Bengal will face BSS Sporting Club three days later. Mohammedan Sporting Club will play its second match against Southern Samity on August 19.
The much-awaited Calcutta Football League derby between rivals Mohun Bagan and East Bengal is expected to be held in the first week of September.
Interestingly, the CFL will run parallelly with the ongoing Durand Cup, which Mohun Bagan coach Alejandro Menendez called a “disaster.”

Writer: Himani Ranade

12320cookie-checkNew Calcutta Football League fixtures released