The 66th National Film Awards were announced on Friday by the Jury and some prominent celebrities will be receiving the prestigious award in a ceremony in the coming weeks. The I&B Ministry announced in April that the National Film Awards will be declared after the Lok Sabha elections. The awards are conferred according to the recommendations that were submitted by the central jury members. The Jury members headed by Rahul Rawail submitted a report with the recommendations for various categories to the Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar. The winners of this prestigious award are generally announced in April followed by a presentation ceremony in May. The date of presentation of National Film Award highlights the theatrical release of India’s first feature film in 1913.
The Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar told reporters that “The Jury’s deliberations on the awards are complete and they have submitted their final recommendations.” He added that ” The jury made a lot of efforts for the last two months and I am very sure that they would have selected the best films.” Javadekar further added that ” This is 66th year of film awards and they have become a prestigious institute.
Here is the list of the National Film Awards for different categories and winners:
1. URI The Surgical Strike got the best background music & Sound Designer and best actor awards
2. Best Special Effect in a film title was awarded to ‘Awe’ and ‘KGF’
3. Most Film Friendly State: Uttarakhand
4. Special Mention Award: Shruti Hariharan, Chandrachur Rai, G George, and Savitri
5. Best Rajasthani Film: Turtle
6. Kannada film KGF was awarded the best action film title
7. Andhadhun best Hindi film and best actor
8. Best Supporting Actress: Surekha Sikri, Badhaai Ho
9. Best Supporting Actor: Swanand Kirkire, Chumbak (Marathi)
10. Best Film on Environment: Pani (Marathi)
11. Best Film on Social Issues: Padman
12. Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Badhaai Ho
13. India Gandhi Award for Best Debut Directors: Sudhakar Reddy Yakanti for Marathi film Naal
14. Best Actor Award: Ayushmann Khurrana for Adhadhun and Vicky Kaushal for URI The Surgical Strike
15. Best Hindi Film Award was conferred to Andhadhun which was directed by Sriram Raghavan. The movie also received the award for Best Adapted Screen.
16. Best Music director award was conferred to Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Padmavat. The movie also received an award for best male playback singer, which was conferred to Arijit Singh for the song ‘Binte Dil’
17. Best Actor Award Female: Kirti Suresh for Telugu Film Mahanati
18. Best Director: Aditya Dhar for Uri: The Surgical Strike
19. Best Feature Film: Elaru (Gujarati)
20. Best Film on Sports: Swimming through the Darkness(Non-Feature Film category)
21. Best Investigative Film: Amoli(Non-Feature Film Category). The film is directed by Jasmine Kaur Roy & Avinash Roy
22. Best Gujarati Film: Reva
23. Best Punjabi Film: Harjeeta
24. Best Bengali Film: Ek Je Chhilo Raja
25. Best Assamese Film: Bulbul can sing
26. Best Konkani Film: Amori
27. Best Kannada Film: Nathicharami
28. Best Telugu Film: Mahanati
29. Best Malayalam Film: Sudani from Nigeria
30. Best Urdu Film: Hamid
31. Best Tamil Film: Baaram
32. Best Marathi Film: Bhonga
33. Best Sherdukpan Film: Mishing
34. Best Environment Film: The World’s Most Famous Tiger.
35. The film is directed by Subbiah Nallamuthu.
36. Best Promotional Film: Rediscovering Jalam. The film is directed by Avinash Maurya & Kriti Gupta
37. Best Science & Technology Film (Non-Feature Category)- G.D Naidu: The Edison of India
38. Best Arts and Culture Film- Bunkar: The Last of The Varanasi Weavers
39. Best Debut Non-Feature Film of a Director: Feluda_50 Years Rays Detective
40. Best Non-Feature Film: Son-Rise and The Secret Life of Frogs

13480cookie-checkAyushmann Khurrana, Vicky Kaushal best actors; URI: The Surgical Strike, Badhai Ho, Padmaavat win : 66th National Film Award